I love this ring and the man who gave it to me even more.

I’ll never forget the day that my husband proposed to me. I was exhausted from staying up late the night before. Dan wanted to take me to lunch; I nearly sent him home. Instead I picked myself up and tried to enjoy our date. I could barely keep myself awake while we ate our chicken curry. Afterwards, we walked a few blocks to St. Petersburg’s Museum of Fine Arts. He wanted to sit in the Kapok tree next to the building, the first place we sat and had a long conversation. The date was September 5, 2004, not a good day to be sitting in a tree–Hurricane Frances was on its way. Dan wasn’t going to let that stop him, though. He grabbed my hand and told me he loved me (for the first time). He asked me to marry him. I said yes. Then he put the ring on my finger. We kissed and then hurried out of the tree before Frances could. I didn’t let a silly hurricane stop me from showing off my gorgeous diamond and ruby ring to my family and friends.

Each woman’s engagement story is different. They don’t all happen in trees during hurricanes, but they’re all unforgettable. A woman’s engagement ring is probably her most treasured piece of jewelry, even if it isn’t the most valuable. That’s why people insure their engagement rings. You can take out a separate policy just for your engagement ring or you can add it to your homeowner’s or renter’s insurance policy as an extension. If your ring is very valuable, it’s best to purchase a separate policy through the jeweler. Be sure to have it appraised by the jeweler when you buy it and on a regular basis. Keep current photos of it. Purchasing an “actual cash value” policy for your ring will pay to replace it, even if it’s gone up in value.  You’ll also want to make sure the policy covers a variety of scenarios for which you’d need to replace your ring: lost, stolen, eaten by your dog, crushed in the garbage disposal, etc.. You’ll probably only pay about 1% of the ring’s value each year it’s insured. That’s worth the peace of mind it brings.

To find out more about engagement ring insurance check out eHow.com and TheKnot.com.

