A couple of weeks ago I planned a field trip, with my friend Krista, to Brooker Creek Preserve in Tarpon Springs. It was the first time either of us had been there. The short walk to the Education Center was beautiful.

I loved the beautifully sculpted archways that covered the path leading to the education center.

We met Krista and he 4 boys (ranging from age 6 months to 10 years old) at the education center and then went walking along the Education Center Loop Trail. The trail had several interpretive signs along the way that talked about things like creek itself and the wildlife inhabiting the preserve.

This sign talked about the history of Brooker Creek. Alistair liked it because it looked like a book.

The kids had a great time running along the boardwalk, checking out the fish and trying to navigate the trail. The scenery was gorgeous. The only thing that I didn’t like about this short trail, was that I had a hard time pushing my infant son in his stroller because much of the trail was sandy. I highly recommend bringing a jogging stroller if you have one (I don’t). The trail ended back by the parking lot and there we found a shelter with several picnic tables. So we took a break from the heat and ate some lunch.

Alistair, Wesley and I enjoying the shade.

Then we said goodbye to Krista and her boys and headed to the Education Center. My 3-year-old Alistair was immediately amazed by the wonderful exhibits. He loved the coyote by the entrance and couldn’t get enough of the water cycle exhibit. His favorite exhibit was a giant map of the Brooker Creek watershed.

There lots of things that we could touch, see and hear, like the sculpture of a vulture that hissed when you pet its head and a giant gopher tortoise burrow that you could crawl through. They had the most comfortable rocking chairs in the world that sat in front of giant windows overlooking the preserve.

Check out that view!

You should definitely take your family to Brooker Creek Preserve soon! It’s located at 3940 Keystone Road Tarpon Springs, FL and is open Thursday – Saturday from 9 a.m. –  4 p.m., which is not often enough for me.

