Memorial Day

We walked among the crosses
Where our fallen soldiers lay.
And listened to the bugle
As TAPS began to play.
The Chaplin led a prayer
We stood with heads bowed low.
And I thought of fallen comrades
I had known so long ago.
They came from every city
Across this fertile land.
That we might live in freedom.
They lie here ‘neath the sand.
I felt a little guilty
My sacrifice was small.
I only lost a little time
But these men lost their all.
Now the services are over
For this Memorial Day.
To the names upon these crosses
I just want to say,
Thanks for what you’ve given
No one could ask for more.
May you rest with God in heaven
From now through evermore.

-C.W. Johnson

I came across this lovely poem today. The poet is a veteran, who put his life on the line by serving in our military, but he doesn’t hold himself in regard. Instead, he has a greater appreciation for the men who’s lives were sacrificed for our freedoms. Today, let’s remember those who are no longer with us, whether they died in battle or died at home, but let’s also celebrate the lives of the men and women serving now. They don’t know their fate, yet they fight for us anyway. Thank you to all the men and women who have served in the military and still do.

Today I can’t help but think of both my grandfathers, Gerald Winter (Navy) and Otto Leland (Army), who both served our country well and are no longer with us. I remember painting my Pop’s Navy tattoo with water colors as a little girl and being so proud of him. I never met my Grandpa Leland, but I have always enjoyed looking at his photos, military medals and the helmet he wore in WWII. I’m proud of him too.

