7401 Gulf Blvd. St. Pete Beach, FL

Today I want to tell you how a stranger made my birthday extra special. This morning my husband offered to take us out to breakfast, which we never do, and I said “Yeah!”. I read a review for one restaurant on St. Pete Beach, but it was labeled expensive and mediocre. One of the reviewers mentioned a placed called Beverly’s La Croisette. My mom called to wish me a happy birthday and she mentioned La Croisette without knowing that I was already planning on going there. I also posted a question on the Patrons Insurance Agency Facebook page asking where people like to get breakfast in town and one of our fans recommended the very same place. We were destined to go!

The place is small, but neat and full of loyal customers. We picked a seat and our waitress Meredith “Mere Bear” was quick to greet us and take our drink order. She even stopped to help us adjust the high chair straps for the baby. Their menu was full of wonderful choices for breakfast. I was immediately drawn to the omelettes and had to have the Florida Omelette, which came with avocado (my favorite!), tomato, cheddar cheese and sour cream. It was spectacular! I also adored the hash browns (so crispy and flavorful) and the fresh-baked croissant. But before the food came out I overheard a couple, at the table next to ours, mention they were also celebrating a birthday. I wished the woman a happy birthday and vice versa. We chatted briefly. Then we ate and so did they. Before we could even ask for our check, “Mere Bear” told us that the bill was taken care of by my birthday buddy at the next table.

I was so excited to eat I forgot to take a picture first. So this omelette is 1/3 gone.

I was so amazed by the generosity of this stranger, I just had to give her a hug. We talked some more and I found out that her name is Judy and her husband’s is Frank. They attend a local Catholic church and often do this sort of thing for people (according to our waitress, not Judy). She said my breakfast was a blessing from God, not them. I’m so happy that God lead us to this restaurant, where we could eat a delicious breakfast (including plate-sized pancakes) and make some new friends. Judy, if you’re reading this, thank you so much! You are an inspiration. To the owners and staff, we’ll be back to try those giant waffles!

